Monday, June 9, 2008

AASM Installs New Leaders, Honors Young Investigators

Dr. Mary-Susan Esther was installed as president of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine during the AASM General Membership Meeting this afternoon at SLEEP 2008.

Esther, medical director of
The Sleep Center at SouthPark in Charlotte, N.C., was introduced by outgoing president Dr. Alex Chediak after he discussed the initiatives advanced by the AASM in the past year. Chediak then gave her a gavel to symbolize the transfer of leadership.

Esther thanked the members, saying that practicing sleep medicine for more than 20 years has prepared her well for this opportunity. She assured the members that during her term the AASM would continue to be the leading voice representing the interests of
sleep specialists and promoting the field of sleep medicine.

Esther emphasized that the AASM would be steadfast in its commitment to setting evidence-based
standards for the field, and that it would work even harder to promote the recognition of board-certified sleep specialists and AASM-accredited sleep centers as the leading providers of quality medical care for people with disorders of sleep and alertness.

Earlier in the meeting the entire AASM board of directors for 2008-2009 was introduced. Joining Esther as officers are past president Chediak;
Dr. Clete Kushida, who rotates from secretary-treasurer to president-elect; and Dr. Nancy Collop, who assumes the role of secretary-treasurer.

Dr. Rich Berry and Dr. Art Spielman were recognized for completing their terms on the board of directors, and
Dr. Safwan Badr and Dr. Sam Fleishman were introduced as newly elected directors at large.

The meeting also included the recognition of Dr. Ehab Dayyat of the University of Louisville, who received the AASM 2008 Young Investigator Award. Honorable mention went to Dr. Fawad Mian, Daniel Kay, Dr. Nabil Al Lawati and Dr. Tracy Rupp.

No comments:

Post a Comment