Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Workshop Looks Back at Historic 2007 Certification Exam

A workshop taking place this morning at SLEEP 2008 is taking a look back at the historic certification examination in sleep medicine that was administered by member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties in November 2007.

Although certification for
sleep specialists has been available for more than 25 years, this was the first time that the exam was administered under the umbrella of the ABMS. The exam was offered by the American Board of Internal Medicine, the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, the American Board of Pediatrics, the American Board of Family Medicine and the American Board of Otolaryngology. The exam will continue to be offered every two years.

The workshop chair is
Dr. Stuart Quan, who will review both the development of the exam content and the results from the 2007 exam.

American Academy of Sleep Medicine administered a certification examination in sleep medicine from 1978 to 1990, giving specialists in sleep medicine an opportunity to prove their expertise in the diagnosis and treatment of patients with sleep disorders.

The AASM then voted to create the independent American Board of Sleep Medicine, and the ABSM assumed responsibility for the exam from 1991 to 2006.

No comments:

Post a Comment